Movie

 

1914. Pendant qu'à Buenos Aires Jean Mordant remporte le titre de champion du monde de lutte, sa fille Mimi est violée à Ostende par des soldats allemands. Jean fait le serment de venger cette ignominie. Avec son entraîneur Victor et son neveu Guido, il s'engage au sein du prestigieux bataillon ACM (“Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses”). Mais les lourds véhicules blindés ont le défaut de s'enfoncer dans la boue flamande et le bataillon est muté vers le front de l'Est. Au grand dam de Jean, qui vient d'apprendre que Mimi est enceinte, débute ainsi une odyssée dramatique autour du monde.

En Russie, l'ennui et la vodka minent le moral des troupes. Le véhicule blindé est baptisé "Cafard" : indestructible comme un cancrelat, mais aussi symbole de nostalgie et de mélancolie. Seule lueur d'espoir pour Jean : Jelena, une infirmière russe, qui ne pourra cependant empêcher son naufrage moral. Au terme d'une opération militaire désastreuse, Jean se venge et abat lâchement un soldat allemand d'une balle dans le dos.

La vengeance est amère. La vision du monde romantique de Jean, héritée du 19ème siècle, se déglingue. Quand la révolution russe éclate en octobre 1917, on tue, on pille et on viole. Confronté à tant d'injustice, le jeune Guido est séduit par le communisme. À son instigation, l'ACM conclut un accord avec les bolchéviques et les blindés sont échangés contre un train à destination de l'Est.

Dans la nature sauvage de Sibérie, de Mongolie et de Chine, Jean retrouve un certain équilibre intérieur. Victor est attaqué par un ours. À leur arrivée à Vladivostok, il est amputé d'un bras. Physiquement détruit et rongé par le remords, Victor se suicide. 

Les Brave Little Belgians font l'objet d'un accueil triomphal aux États-unis. Mais les quatre années de privations et de misère qu'ils ont vécues ont laissé des traces profondes. Jean s'éloigne de son neveu communiste. Et enfin des nouvelles de Mimi : il s'avère qu'elle a succombé à la grippe espagnole... 

Tenté de commencer une nouvelle vie avec Jelena aux Etats Unies, Jean retournera pourtant vers le vieux monde, où il finira par rencontrer son petit-fils. 

Un autre homme, une ère nouvelle.

Movie

 

August 1914. While Jean Mordant is away winning the title of World Wrestling Champion in Buenos Aires, his daughter Mimi is raped by German occupiers in Ostend. Jean swears he will avenge this immoral disgrace. With his coach Victor and young nephew Guido, he enrolls in the prestigious ACM, the first Armored Car Division ever. But the heavily-built armored vehicles keep getting stuck in the mud of Flanders. The battalion is hastily transferred to the Eastern front. Jean is devastated by frustration for he has just learned that Mimi is pregnant. But war conditions are ruthless and he and his friends embark on a dramatic journey that ultimately will drag them around the world.

In Russia, boredom and vodka sap the troops’ morale. The armored vehicle is named “Cafard”: as indestructible as a cockroach but also a symbol of nostalgia and melancholy. Jean’s only twinkle of hope is Jelena, a Russian nurse. But she cannot prevent his downward moral spiral. At the end of a disastrous military operation, Jean finally takes his revenge by cowardly shooting a German soldier in the back.

But revenge is bitter. Jean’s romantic 19th century vision falls apart. When Bolshevik revolution breaks out in October 1917, there is random killing, raping and pillaging. Confronted with so much social injustice, the young Guido is drawn to communism. On his initiative, the ACM makes a deal with the Bolsheviks and the armored vehicles are traded for a train heading East.

In the wild landscapes of Siberia, Mongolia and China, Jean comes to terms with himself. Victor is attacked by a bear and when they arrive in Vladivostok, his arm has to be amputated. Physically destroyed and eaten away by remorse, Victor commits suicide. 

The Brave Little Belgians receive a triumphant welcome in the pro-war United States. But four years of deprivation and hardship have left their mark. Jean distances himself from his would-be communist nephew. At last he receives catastrophic news about Mimi. Spanish flu in Europe has taken her too. 

Jelena offers him to start a new life with her in America, but Jean heads back to the old world where he finally embraces a little boy he has never seen before: his grandson, fruit of his initial shame. 

A new man in a new era.